Cheney Free Press -

Sports Briefs


Five added to next Eastern Washington Hall of Fame Class of 2017

The first soccer player in school history will be among the individuals in the 17th class of inductees into the Eastern Washington University Athletics Hall of Fame taking place Sept. 30.

Goalkeeper Tiera Como-Irby was a two-time Big Sky Conference Defensive Most Valuable Player in 2005 and 2006 for the Eagles, who won the soccer program’s first-ever Big Sky Conference title in 2004 with her in the goal. The graduate of Spokane’s East Valley High School will be joined by basketball players Ronn McMahon and Fay Zwarych-Shaw in this year’s class, as well as previously-announced football players Tony Brooks and Jackie Kellogg.

That fivesome will join the 1992 EWU football team in morning ceremonies taking place in conjunction with EWU’s home football game versus Sacramento State.

Lt. William “Bink” Wall will be recognized posthumously as this year’s recipient of the Eastern Athletics Hall of Fame Service and Contribution Award.


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019