Cheney Free Press -

Airway Heights, Medical Lake council and school board results


Last updated 11/14/2019 at 9:25am


Staff reporter

Airway Heights City Council

Incumbent Councilman Larry Bowman defeated challenger Jared Lacambra by a large margin to maintain his seat on the Airway Heights council. Bowman received 519 of the 810 votes cast, easily winning by a 64 percent margin.

Jennifer Morton beat Sarah Slater by over 23 percentage points to claim departing Councilman Dave Malot’s seat on the council, receiving 491 of the 815 votes cast.

Incumbent Councilwoman Veronica Messing was unchallenged.

Medical Lake City Council

There was some confused voting activity for Medical Lake council seats.

Mitch Hardin had tossed his name in the hat for the council seat being vacated by Laura Parsons because, he said, no one else had at the time. But he later changed his mind after former City Councilman Art Kulibert decided to run for the position. And while Hardin later endorsed Kulibert, by the time he tried to withdraw it as too late, and his name remained on the ballot. Hardin went on to receive 339 of the 828 votes cast, nearly 41 percent.

But Kulibert came out the victor anyway, gaining 57.25 percent of the vote to take the council seat.

Also running uncontested were incumbents Jessica Roberts, Don Kennedy and Elizabeth Rosenbeck. Council newcomer Heather Starr ran unopposed and for departing Councilwoman Laura Parson’s seat.

Medical Lake School District

Challenger Laura Parsons, who vacated her City Council seat to run for a position on the school board, defeated incumbent board member Felicia Jensen. Parsons received nearly 50 percent of the 1,846 ballots cast to Jensen’s 48, with the remaining 3 percent write-in ballots. The spread was only 32 votes.

Unchallenged incumbent board members Ron Cooper and Board President Ron Von Lehe will hold their seats for another term.

Lee Hughes can be reached at


Reader Comments


Our Family of Publications Includes:

Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019