Cheney Free Press -


AFCA Honors Lee, Kupp on prestigious All-America Team




A pair of Eastern Washington University football players from the state of Washington – wide receiver Cooper Kupp and cornerback T.J. Lee III – have been selected to the American Football Coaches Association NCAA Football Championship Subdivision All-America team. A national committee of FCS coaches selects the prestigious 25-member squad, which was announced Dec. 23.

Kupp, a freshman from Yakima, Wash. and Davis High School was the lone freshman or sophomore on the team after enjoying a record-breaking season that saw him capture the Jerry Rice Award as the top freshman in FCS.

Lee, a three-time All-Big Sky Conference first team selection from Seattle and West Seattle High School, is one of 17 seniors on the squad, which has been selecting All-America teams since 1945.

Kupp and Lee bring the total number of Eastern players selected to the squad to 18, representing 19 honors. Kupp has already earned first team All-America honors from Associated Press, Walter Camp Football Foundation, The Sports Network and Beyond Sports Network, and second team accolades from College Sports Madness (also FCS Freshman of the Year).

Lee previously was a first team All-America selection by College Sports Madness and Beyond Sports Network, and earned second team honors from Associated Press and The Sports Network.

Other Eagles earning All-America honors thus far are senior center Ashton Miller, sophomore quarterback Vernon Adams Jr. and senior linebacker Ronnie Hamlin.

The Eagles ended their season 12-3 and advanced to the semifinals of the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision Playoffs for the second straight year, falling to Towson 35-31 last Saturday.


Reader Comments