Cheney Free Press -


Adams is runner-up in Payton Award voting


Eastern Washington University sophomore quarterback Vernon Adams finished second in the voting for the 27th Annual Payton Award given to the top player in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision. The winner was Eastern Illinois quarterback Jimmy Garoppolo and finishing third was Towson running back Terrance West.

The award was presented Dec. 16 at The Sports Network’s FCS Awards Banquet and Presentation in Philadelphia.

Eastern head coach Beau Baldwin has called the performance by Adams “the best I’ve seen since I’ve been a college football coach.” The native of Pasadena, Calif., is 20-3 as an Eastern starter thus far in his career.

The Payton Award was won previously by Eastern players Erik Meyer (2005) and Bo Levi Mitchell (2011). That award is bestowed on the outstanding player in the FCS and considered the Heisman Trophy of the former Division I-AA level.


Reader Comments