Kaufman, Adams, Nelson, Kellerman double winners at 'EeeWoos'


A quartet of student-athletes each won a pair of awards among the 16 handed out at the Fifth Annual “EeeWoos” awards show, which took place June 4 at EWU’s Showalter Auditorium.

Women’s basketball player Lexie Nelson, volleyball/track and field standout Cora Kellerman and football players Brandon Kaufman and Vernon Adams were each honored twice for their accomplishments during the 2012-13 season and their careers.

Kaufman and Nelson took home the biggest prizes and were honored as the school’s Male and Female Athlete of the Year. Kellerman and football player Jeff Minnerly were honored as the school’s Female and Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, respectively.

Kellerman also took home the Female Career Achievement Award, which was won for the men by track and field sprinter Brad Wall. Kaufman also won the award for Best Record-Breaking Performance, and Nelson was also awarded as Female Newcomer of the Year.

Adams won the award for Best Play and was also selected as the school’s Male Freshman of the Year. The Female Freshman of the Year honor went to Hayley Hodgins from the women’s basketball team, which won the award for Best Game/Competition.

The Male Newcomer of the Year award was won by tennis player Joseph Cohen. Volleyball player Laney Brown won the Triple-Threat Citizen award for the second year in a row as a result of her athletic accomplishments, academic achievement and her service to the community.

In addition, the Eagle football team won Team of the Year honors, and Beau Baldwin was honored as Coach of the Year.

Nominations and voting for the “EeeWoos” was conducted by Athletic Department coaches and staff.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017