Cheney rodeo, mayor along with several individuals and businesses honored at chamber's Best of the West


Over 200 attendees gathered Friday evening at Northern Quest Resort and Casino to congratulate recipients at the West Plains Chamber “Best of the West” annual recognition ceremony.

Categories ranging from Non-Profit of the Year to Person of the Year were included in the nomination and voting process resulting in a total of 17 groupings. According to a West Plains Chamber news release, over 180 votes were received from chamber members.

“Our goal tonight is to acknowledge men and women whose contributions to our region’s business community, education system, manufacturing and customer service industry, our first responders and the men and women who serve our nation in uniform are recognized for their performance above and beyond the normal call of duty,” West Plains Chamber of Commerce president Latisha Hill told the Northern Quest audience.

Recipients for 2013 Best of the West are as follows:

Community Relations Individual – Matt Boyd, Burke Construction Group

Community Relations Business/Organization – Spokane Teacher’s Credit Union

Innovative Practices – Spokane International Airport

Customer Service Individual – Brook Anderson, Blackhawk Veterinary Hospital

Customer Service Business/Organization – Owl Pharmacies

Small Business of the Year – Rokko’s Teriyaki & BBQ

Technology – Sunshine Disposal & Recycling

Non Profit of the Year – Cleone’s Closet

Medium Business of the Year – Owl Pharmacies

First Responders – Brian K. Anderson/Spokane Fire District 3

Large Business/Organization of the Year – Eastern Washington University

Business Leader of the Year – Steve Emtman

Person of the Year – Cheney Mayor Tom Trulove

Most Uniquely West Plains – Cheney Rodeo

Chamber Champion – Steve Taylor, Taylor Computing

Special recognition awards went to the following individuals:

Educators of the Year – Jeff Butler, Cheney School District, Darrel John, Medical Lake School District and Nadean Meyer, Eastern Washington University.

Receiving awards for Military Persons of the Year were Capt. Shannon Yellin, 141st Air National Guard, MSgt Michael H. Alford, Air Education and Training Command, TSgt Bradley Barkhauer, 92nd Air Mobility Command and Senior Airman Jennifer Soulier, 336th Survival School -Air Mobility Command/Air National Guard.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2017

Rendered 01/06/2018 18:26