Cheney Free Press -


Eastern sweeps BSC Freshman of Year honors II

Hodgins named Big Sky’s top Freshman; Nelson, Ojeda on All-Conference Team


Paul Delaney

Haley Hodgins emerged late in the season and played a big part in the EWU women’s strong finish and was the conference Freshman of the Year.

Following a successful run in the 2012-13 Big Sky regular season, the Eastern Washington University women’s basketball team had three individual members honored on the All-Big Sky Conference Team, which was announced last Monday, March 11.

In a vote of the league’s 11 head coaches, sophomore guard Lexie Nelson was one of six players selected to the All-Big Sky First Team, while senior Carrie Ojeda earned the first All-Conference distinction of her career as a member of the honorable mention squad.

Redshirt freshman Hayley Hodgins was tabbed as the Most Outstanding Freshman, becoming the first player since 1993, and one of only five throughout Eastern Washington women’s basketball history, to take home the coveted award.

“It’s really exciting for us to see a player who has put in the time and effort that Hayley has get an award like this,” Schuller said. “She was the leading freshman scorer in the league this year, and I think shot the ball as well as anybody in the whole conference.”

Hodgins was one of only two freshmen who ranked among the top 30 in the league in scoring. She was fifth in 3-point field goal percentage (39.3) and 12th in 3-point field goal average (1.2) - one of only two freshmen to rank in the top 15 of those categories as well.

In conference play, the Pasco, Wash., native had seven double-digit scoring games, including five in a row from Jan. 10-21. She was named Big Sky Player of the Week Jan. 21 after leading EWU to a pair of home victories against North Dakota and Big Sky regular season runner-up Northern Colorado.

Hodgins took home an award that only four other players in Eastern history have earned. She joins Vanessa Jones (1989), Christina Marshall (1990), Keri Schwenke (1992) and Kristy Missall (1993) as a Big Sky Freshman of the Year award winner.


Reader Comments

Rendered 05/04/2015 01:29