August 30, 2012 |

Eastern men release basketball schedule

First six games are away from home so fans will have to wait to check out new Reese seats

FROM STAFF AND NEWS SERVICE REPORTS

Remember those nice new Reese Court seats that were installed during the offseason?

On the good side there's more opportunities to enjoy them for Eastern Washington University men's basketball. The bad news is fans will have to wait a while to sit in them.

Eastern will play its first six games away from home, but then will have five of six at the improved Reese Court setting that will also be receiving a new video board.

“The neat thing is we're increasing the number of home games,” Eastern head coach Jim Hayford said.

EWU opens the season Nov. 10 at Washington State, but won't play at home until Nov. 30 when Cal State Fullerton visits.

Last spring new premium seating was added on the scorer's table/team benches side, and the existing wooden bleachers were moved to the ends of the court.

Although the Eagles officially don't open at home until Nov. 30, they will host an exhibition game versus Concordia (Oregon) Sunday, Nov. 4 at Reese Court following an exhibition game for the Eastern women.

Eastern's schedule includes 10 games versus eight schools who participated in national postseason tournaments a year ago.

“November will be a really tough month as a young team starts to come together on the road,” Hayford said. “That experience will only make us better and stronger team as we prepare for Big Sky play.”

Eastern's games versus Washington State, Utah Valley, South Carolina Upstate and Santa Clara are all part of the 2012 College Basketball Experience (CBE) Hall of Fame Classic. The WSU game will take place in Pullman and the other three will be played in Santa Clara, Calif., as part of the CBE Classic, which is hosted by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

The Eagles will also play at home in an ESPN BracketBusters game on Feb. 22 or 23. With the addition of North Dakota and Southern Utah into the Big Sky Conference, Eastern's league slate will include 20 games for the first time.

After losing four seniors to graduation from his first Eastern team, Hayford's 2012-13 squad will return two starters and four other returning letterwinners. His team also includes three players who redshirted last season – featuring a pair of NCAA Division I transfers – with six newcomers rounding out his squad.

Eastern finished 15-17 overall and was 8-8 in Big Sky Conference play to finish fourth, and the Eagles won their first Big Sky Conference Tournament game since 2006.  

Eastern Washington University

Men's Basketball2012-2013 Schedule

(as of August 26, 2012)

Sunday, Nov. 4 , %Concordia (Ore.), 3:30 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 10 at #Washington State, TBA

Monday, Nov. 12 at Cal State Northridge, 7:05 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 18 at Saint Mary's, TBA

Tuesday, Nov. 20 vs. #Utah Valley at Santa Clara, Calif., 6 p.m.

Wednesday, Nov. 21 vs. #South Carolina Upstate at Santa Clara, Calif., 6 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 23 at #Santa Clara, 4 p.m. (approx.)

Friday, Nov. 30, Cal State Fullerton, 6:05 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 6, Idaho, 6:05 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 10, Seattle, 6:05 p.m.

Monday, Dec. 17 at UC Davis - Davis, Calif.

Thursday, Dec. 20, *Weber State, 6:05 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 22, *Idaho State, 2:05 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 3 at *Montana - Missoula, Mont. 

Saturday, Jan. 5 at *Montana State, TBA

Thursday, Jan. 10, *Northern Arizona, 6:05 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 12, *Sacramento State, 6:05 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 17 at *North Dakota, TBA

Saturday, Jan. 19 at *Northern Colorado, TBA

Saturday, Jan. 26 at *Southern Utah, 6:05 p.m.

Monday, Jan. 28, *Portland State, 6:05 p.m.

Thursday, Jan. 31, *Montana State, 6:05 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 2, *Montana, 6:05 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 7 at *Sacramento State, 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 9 at *Northern Arizona, TBA

Saturday, Feb. 16, *Southern Utah, 2:05 p.m.

Monday, Feb. 18 at *Portland State, 7:35 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 23, ESPN BracketBusters, TBA/poss. 2:05 p.m.

Thursday, Feb. 28, *Northern Colorado, 6:05 p.m.

Saturday, March 2, *North Dakota, 2:05 p.m.

Thursday, March 7 at *Idaho State

Saturday, March 9 at *Weber State, 6:05 p.m.

Thursday, March 14 - Saturday, March 16, Big Sky Tournament Championship at regular season champion - TBA

All Times Pacific. %Exhibition Game. #CBE Classic Game. *Big Sky Conference Game.

Reader Comments

(0)